The 2017 (UK) Vane A-Class Championships

The 2017 (UK) Vane A-Class Championships at Fleetwood starts on Sunday. This prestigious regatta has a history which dates back to the late 1920’s. This five day event brings skippers from all over the UK, with the Netherlands also represented. It was practise day today, a chance for the skippers to meet up with friends and tune up their yachts prior to tomorrows start.
David Bell (Sail no 26) is the current champion and the holder of the trophy for the past 2 years. He is surely favourite to win again this year. However, there will be strong challenges from Fleetwood skipper Robert Walsh (Sail no 167) and Gosport skipper Shawn Wyeth (Sail No 99). In addition, its worth mentioning Anthony Warren and Lester Gilbert, (Sail no 10) both have teamed up and will be competing with a Graham Bantock designed yacht ‘Shield’. The two skippers have also been trialing a new A-Class design prior to the event.
Watch for further reports.