Vane A-Class Championships Final Report

Final report has been posted on Yachts & Yachting by John Taylor, check it out here

And another reminder about Mike Parkington’s epic flickr gallary here:

Updated with this fine report from Peter Whiteside:

Fleetwood Model Yacht & Power Boat Club hosted the MYA National Championships for Vane-steered “A” Class Yachts from Sunday 30th July to Friday 4th August 2017 ( inclusive). These yachts are up to 8 feet long and 9 feet tall and do not have radio control. Competitors came from all over the UK, including Birkenhead, Clapham, Leeds and Bradford, Gosport, four yachts from Fleetwood and also one from Holland. There was plenty of exciting racing in the strong wind conditions.
Championship winners were Fleetwood Club members, David & Robert Bell, sailing “Pegasus”. This was David’s third consecutive win of this event for the “Scrutton Cup”. They also won the “Jonnies Cup” for the highest number of wins sailing to windward.
In second place were Fleetwood Club members Peter Whiteside and Eddie Greenwood, sailing “Blue Note”. They were awarded the “Little Portugal Cup” for being the highest placed competitors who have not previously won the “Scrutton Cup”.
In third place were Martin Roberts and Bernie MacNulty of the Birkenhead Club, sailing “Yellow Peril”. They also won the “Wing & Wing Cup” for the highest number of down-wind races.
The above three yachts were all designed by Fleetwood Club member, John Simpson.
The Fleetwood Club also won the team event for the “Neptune Trophy”, the team of three yachts consisting of “Pegasus”, “Blue Note” and “Dilligaff”, the latter yacht sailed by Robert and Tomas Walsh.
The Denis Lippett Trophy, for the most improved junior competitor, was awarded to Amber Geldard, sailing “Syana” with her father, David, representing the Leeds & Bradford Club.
The mid-week Knock-Out competition for the magnificent 90 year old “Yachting Monthly Cup” was won by the Wyeth family, consisting of grandfather Graham, son Shaun and grandson Louis, sailing “Carbon Copy”.
The Race Officer was Model Yachting Association and Fleetwood Club President, Derek Priestley, himself several times winner of the above trophies and also a World Champion in Radio Controlled “A” Class yachts.
Eric Watkinson was the Scorer, and Line Judges and Starters John Plant, Brian Carruthers, Trevor Bell  and David Rose.
Peter L. Whiteside,
Vane-steered Yachts Fleet Captain

Overall Results:

  • 1st David / Robert Bell, 83pts
  • 2nd Peter Whiteside / Eddie Greenwood, 73pts
  • 3rd Martin Roberts / Bernie McNulty, 68pts
  • 4th Shawn, Lewis, Graham Wyeth, 66pts
  • 5th Arjan Van Der Cidel, 63pts
  • 6th David / Amber Geldard, 58pts
  • 7th Peter Fothergill / Andy Fernie, 50pts
  • 8th Robert / Thomas Walsh, 48pts
  • 9th Damian Ackroyd, 46pts
  • 10th John Taylor, 43pts
  • 11th Anthony Warren / Lester Gilbert, 35pts
  • 12th Rob / CJ Vice, 24pts