DF95 Squadron SERIES 2 EVENT 7

The final event of Series Two over eight races was completed for in ‘champagne’ conditions with a constant A rig breeze coming straight down the lake which lent itself to some fine tacking duals over the whole of the eleven strong fleet.

It was good to see David and Mark Rose back on the water although they enjoyed mixed results culminating in David being RO for the final four races due to rig failure.

Congratulation to John Sharman – the overall winner for this event and for the series and to David Foster a worthy series runner up!

This series was contested for by nineteen of the Squadron and you may note that only two points separated the third, fourth and fifth which reflects the highly competitive and close racing with the 95.

The first event of series 3 is next Tuesday, the 24th at 6.30pm

Garry Benson

DF95 Club Captain

DF95 Squadron SERIES 2 EVENT 6

First and foremost, congratulations to Derek on becoming the DF95 National Champion and to those of the Squadron who competed so admirably over the weekend!Tonight, except for a couple of the eight races, Derek gave his boat to Bob Jones to taste the difference to his 65 and it is hoped he gets his hands on one as he soon became competitive and managed a second in the final race.Sadly Chris C is having a ‘servo attack’ yet still managed a respectable overall result and Susan S is now realising her potential and climbing the board.The WNW breeze which slowly abated, again tested our patience as it varied its strength and the ‘flicks’ were a feature of the night over a course which covered the whole of the lake and John S eventually ran out a worthy winner.The final event of this series is next Tuesday, the 17th at 6.30pmGarry BensonDF95 Club Captain

DF95 Squadron SERIES 2 EVENT 5

Tuesday 3rd July 2018

A baker’s dozen of the Squadron, including the welcome return of  147  ‘the green machine – aka Eric Read’ and the addition to the fleet (Walter Audley) initially suffered the now familiar fickle summer A rig breeze but finally, in the last two of the eight races, we were treated to the best tacking races of the year as the wind filled whilst totally changing its direction.

During this eventful evening DP gave an almost faultless display whilst John S befell a servo failure and David cleared the lake of crab lines – not to mention the occasional jelly-brake!

As this was the final event prior to the Nationals at Weechers Reservoir, Keighley this weekend (7/8 July) we wish good fortune to the travelling Fleetwood 95 Squadron.

Garry Benson

DF95 Club Captain

Model Yacht Sailing Informal Open Day

Ever seen model yachts being sailed and wanted to know how it was done or to have a go?  Now is your chance! A group of Fleetwood yacht skippers will be at the model yachting lake with their boats on Saturday 21st July 2018 between 11:00 and 15:00 and we look forward to showing you what it is all about.

If you have any questions/queries in advance please contact us here

Location: the Model Yachting Lake, Laidleys Walk, Fleetwood, Lancashire FY7 7JL

Note: Whilst older children may participate at the discretion of the club members, this is not an activity suitable for the under 12s.  All children MUST be under appropriate supervision.

On the hottest day of year so far, mother nature ‘blessed’ us with another fickle A rig breeze over another testing course set by Derek.

We welcomed Doug Wayman and Bob Jones to the fleet and it was also good to see Peter Isle who eventually mastered the conditions with some good finishes including a bullet!

The overall results were dominated by David Foster and his travelling club member Gordon whilst the middle order of the Squadron continues to be highly competitive, even allowing for occasional ‘guest helming’ tonight’s results were the closest to date.

The next DF95 racing is this Saturday at 12 noon which provides another opportunity to tune up for the Nationals at Weechers Reservoir, Keighley the following weekend (7/8 July).

Garry Benson

DF95 Club Captain

Schooner Results Q1 & Q2

Schooner Sailing 2018 1st Quarter Results

A Class

  • 1st Roy Pickering
  • 2nd John Mac

B Class

  • 1st Martin Pritchard
  • 2nd = Tim Saam
  • 2nd = Tom Pearsall
  • 3rd Tony Carey

C Class

  • 1st Peter Jackson
  • 2nd Ray Baron
  • 3rd= Harry Wilkinson
  • 3rd= Ian Thompson

Schooner Sailing 2018 2nd Quarter Results

A Class

  • 1st   Roy Pickering
  • 2nd   John Mac

B Class

  • 1st   Tony Carey
  • 2nd   Tom Pearsall
  • 3rd    Mike Priest

C Class

  • 1st    Peter Jackson
  • 2nd =  Harry Wilkinson
  • 2nd =  Ian Thompson

DF95 Squadron SERIES 2 EVENT 3

Tuesday 19th June 2018

The evening’s racing was blessed with ten skippers who negotiated an excellent course in A rigs.

The course included various hazards, with some amazingly fickle wind directions, especially the final beat to the finish and sadly crab lines and the occasional jelly brake!

Nevertheless bullets were enjoyed by three skippers with John S proving that, yet again, consistency is the name of the game!

It was good to see back Russell back on the water and also John Plant who took the helm in various races.

All-in-all a thoroughly enjoyable evening with very few breakages and competitive racing throughout the fleet.

Garry Benson

DF95 Club Captain