DF Squadron Club Racing Series 3 No.6

DF65  Wed. 30th August

A fine sunny evening with a good old westerly wind. A rigs all round except for Harry who chose a B rig for the first few races. A fair few DNSs and DNFs; technical problems and jellyfish. Garry caught one in the sixth race whilst in the lead and finished as a DNF.

Next week is the last one in the series and it looks like it could be a tie between Paul and John for the title. If it is we’ll need countbacks.


Ken Crabtree  DF65 Fleet Captain

DF95 Tue. 29th August

Although the racing was not without its uninvited marine life the 95 fleet are in debt to the Jelly Removal Squad’s endeavours which certainly reduced the frustration level from previous weeks.
Nevertheless Chris C seemed to not only attract the inevitable but he also managed to be ‘hooked up’ and be inseparable the length of the lake and whilst being in first position on both occasions! Still, as you will see, the discards came to his rescue.
The weather proved to be favourable and many thanks to Derek for setting another challenging beating and running course which resulted in some exciting tacking duals throughout the fleet during which Derek then demonstrated that with some fine tuning and a master at the ‘helm’ (see race 6) any of this one design can get a bullet.
Next week is the final event in the series and another opportunity to get some tuning in prior to the upcoming Fleetwood Dragon Open (16/17 September) and the Dragon Travellers TT at Weecher Reservoir, Keighley on the 14/15th October.

See you on the water.

Garry Benson

DF95 Club Captain


DF Squadron Club Racing Series 3 No.5


A decent turn out of DF95 skippers were greeted with a little less wind than was forecast, but did their best to produce some competitive racing, although again proved to be a lottery as to whether one could get round the course without the addition of a passenger or two (the dreaded jelly fish).  Derek took the honours for the night, with Chris a close second.

Roll on Saturday, when we shall endeavour to lessen the threat of these pesky blighters.


DF65  Wednesday 23rd August

Looking at the results it seems John P was in great form winning four of the eight races and beating Derek into second place. Note Bob J slowly creeping up the placings.


Ken Crabtree Crocked DF65 Fleet Captain


Vane results

Bit of vane classes housekeeping, here are some Vane Racing Results…

Saturday 3rd June Leech Cup 36R Class (Club Race)

1st     Robert Wheeler & Derek Priestley        18 points

2nd=  John Plant                                               14
2nd=  Tony Wilson                                            14

4th    Peter Jackson                                           6

Race Officer    Eric Watkinson

Saturday 15th July Jack Roberts Trophy “A” Class (Open Event)

1st    “Blue Note”        Peter Whiteside & Peter Jackson        Fleetwood        18 points

2nd    “Pegasus”        David Bell                                              Llandudno        8

3rd    “Dark Horse”    Eddie Greenwood & John Plant            Fleetwood        4

Race Officer    Eric Watkinson

Sunday 16th July  Northern District Championship “A” Class (Open Event)

1st    “Pegasus”        David Bell                                                Llandudno        18 points

2nd    “Blue Note”    Peter Whiteside & Damian Ackroyd        Fleetwood        7

3rd    “Dark Horse”    Eddie Greenwood & John Plant            Fleetwood          5

Race Officer        Eric Watkinson

Vane 36R Lever Cup Saturday 19.08.17

Despite comments of “Surely you are not going sailing in all this wind?”, from Members of other Sections of the Club, the intrepid group of Vane 36R sailors launched or threw their yachts into the large white-topped waves on Fleetwood Model Yacht Lake. The smallest rigs available were the order of the day. The wind was blowing right down the lake from the west end and was much stronger than it had been at the recent Vane “A” Nationals. However, with our sensible heads we decided to do beats only and launch from the side of the lake adjacent to the Clubhouse. The lee yacht would set off from a position astern of the weather boat, then when the lee boat was level the weather boat was released.

Two rounds were sailed. Thanks are due to new recruits, Ian Thompson and Bob Jolly, for acting as mates to the small fleet, and to Race Officer Eric Watkinson.


  • 1st Peter Whiteside 15 points
  • 2nd Peter Jackson 12
  • 3rd John Plant 9
  • 4th Eddie Greenwood 0

DF Squadron Club Racing Series 3 No.4


In blessed weather the Fleetwood 95 Squadron enjoyed (give or take the multiplying jellyfish) the customary eight races in an A rig WSW warm breeze.

It was good to have Shaun In the fleet again and as ever he proved to be competitive after initial rig tuning, etc.

Many thanks to Peter Jackson for setting an excellent course and the RO duties.

DF65 Fleet Wednesday 16th August

Just two skippers opted for B rigs in a gusterly southish wind, the rest stuck with As. A few DNFs and DNSs, causes unspecified but jellyfish not mentioned. Looks like Paul is the one to beat for this series’ title but second place could be interesting.



A-Class Championship – Video Highlights

Good evening model yacht racing fans! Tonight we present a video of the recent A-Class Championships. It was very good, by all accounts.

There is no getting around it… This is big file and it might take a while to stream/download/watch but hopefully, its worth it… these were some Classic Fleetwood Vane A Conditions™ … One for the ages. Thanks to Bob Jolly for sending the footage in.

We’ll also be dropping another massive gallery of pictures soon (when your internet has calmed down)